Skip to main content
Online Master’s Engineering Programs
close Close off-canvas menu

MSU Engineering Faculty

Our professors are distinguished in both the academic and professional engineering communities, with many holding senior memberships with organizations such as the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME).

Our faculty’s research is widely published and includes areas that few groups in the world are studying. At the same time, our breadth of expertise and collaborative atmosphere offer a level of mentorship and student support that few other universities can offer. Our key areas of research include electromagnetics, biomechanics, diamond technology, micro-nano electronics & VLSI, evolutionary computing & algorithms, design optimization, robotics & control and signal processing.

Professors at MSU are committed to the development of our students’ education, and they bring their experience to the classroom through examples leveraged from research, connections with leading industry practitioners and the broad collective expertise of the MSU College of Engineering.

Headshot of Ronald Averill
Ronald Averill
Associate Professor and Associate Chair for the Undergraduate Program
(517) 353-7188
Headshot of André Bénard
André Bénard
Associate Professor
(517) 432-1522
Headshot of Neeraj Buch
Neeraj Buch
Professor of Pavement Engineering and Chairperson of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
(517) 355-5107
Headshot of Tamara Reid Bush
Tamara Reid Bush
Professor, and Associate Dean for Inclusion and Diversity
(517) 353-9544
Headshot of Prem Chahal
Prem Chahal
Associate Professor
(517) 355-0248
Headshot of Karim Chatti
Karim Chatti
Professor of Pavement Engineering and Director of the University Transportation Center on Highway Pavement Preservation
(517) 355-6534
Headshot of Brian Feeny
Brian Feeny
(517) 353-9451
Headshot of Timothy J. Gates
Timothy J. Gates
Associate Professor of Transportation Engineering
(517) 353-7224
Headshot of Timothy Grotjohn
Timothy Grotjohn
(517) 353-8906
Headshot of Syed Waqar Haider
Syed Waqar Haider
Associate Professor of Pavement Engineering
(517) 353-9782
Headshot of Tim Hogan
Tim Hogan
Professor and Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
(517) 432-3176
Headshot of Farhad Jaberi
Farhad Jaberi
(517) 432-4678
Headshot of Hassan Khalil
Hassan Khalil
University Distinguished Professor
(517) 355-6689
Headshot of M. Emin Kutay
M. Emin Kutay
Professor of Pavement Engineering
(517) 353-9297
Headshot of Patrick Kwon
Patrick Kwon
Associate Chair for Graduate Studies Professor
(517) 355-0173
Headshot of Nihar Mahapatra
Nihar Mahapatra
Associate Professor
(517) 432-4617
Headshot of Joydeep Mitra
Joydeep Mitra
Associate Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
(517) 353-8528
Headshot of Daniel Morris
Daniel Morris
Associate Professor
(517) 432-4427
Headshot of Ranjan Mukherjee
Ranjan Mukherjee
Professor, and Interim Chair of Mechanical Engineering Department
(517) 355-1834
Headshot of John Papapolymerou
John Papapolymerou
Chairperson/MSU Foundation Professor
(517) 355-5066
Headshot of Thomas Pence
Thomas Pence
(517) 353-3889
Headshot of Joerg Petrasch
Joerg Petrasch
Associate Professor
(517) 353-5738
Headshot of Sara Roccabianca
Sara Roccabianca
Assistant Professor
(517) 432-3185
Headshot of Edward Rothwell
Edward Rothwell
Dennis P. Nyquist Endowed Professor
(517) 355-5231
Headshot of Himanshu Sahasrabudhe
Himanshu Sahasrabudhe
Assistant Professor
Headshot of Fathi Salem
Fathi Salem
(517) 355-7695
Headshot of Peter T. Savolainen
Peter T. Savolainen
Foundation Professor of Transportation Engineering and Associate Chair for Graduate Studies in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
(517) 432-1825
Headshot of Yuping Wang
Yuping Wang
Academic Specialist
Headshot of Neil Wright
Neil Wright
Associate Professor
(517) 432-4917
Headshot of Junlin Yuan
Junlin Yuan
Assistant Professor
(517) 353-6733